Skip to main content

Middle East Studies: People

Program Director

Michael Provence
Professor of History
mprovence@ucsd.edu
Humanities and Social Sciences Building, Room 4086B 
For office hours, consult the history department website.

Program Coordinator and Student Advisor 

Jose Agustin Ibarra
Current undergraduate students, please use the Virtual Advising Center (VAC) for advising questions.
caesar@ucsd.edu
Humanities and Social Sciences Building, Room 1024
858-534-4551

Walk-in Advising:
Tuesday-Friday
9:00-11:00 AM and 2:00-3:00 PM
and by appointment

Faculty

Guillermo Algaze
Professor of Anthropology
galgaze@ucsd.edu

Eli Berman
Professor of Economics
elberman@ucsd.edu

Suzanne Brenner
Associate Professor of Anthropology
sbrenner@ucsd.edu

Gary Fields
Professor of Communication
gfields@ucsd.edu

Thomas Gallant
Professor of History
tgallant@ucsd.edu

David Goodblatt
Professor Emeritus of History
dgoodblatt@ucsd.edu

Hasan Kayali
Associate Professor of History
hkayali@ucsd.edu

Sanford E. Lakoff
Professor Emeritus of Political Science
slakoff@ucsd.edu

Thomas Levy
Professor of Anthropology
tlevy@ucsd.edu

William H. Propp
Professor Emeritus of History
wpropp@ucsd.edu

Babak Rahimi
Associate Professor of Literature
brahimi@ucsd.edu

James Rauch
Professor of Economics
jrauch@ucsd.edu

Gershon Shafir
Professor of Sociology
gshafir@ucsd.edu

Nir Shafir
Assistant Professor of History
nshafir@ucsd.edu

Winifred Woodhull
Associate Professor Emeritus of Literature
wwoodhull@ucsd.edu

Oumelbanine Zhiri
Professor of Literature
ozhiri@ucsd.edu

Faculty in Memoriam 

Melford E. Spiro
Professor Emeritus in Anthropology