Skip to main content

Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies: People

Program Director 

Amelia Glaser
Associate Professor of Literature

amglaser@ucsd.edu 
Literature Building, Room 345

For office hours, consult the literature department website

Program Coordinator and Student Advisor 

Jennifer Dieli
Current undergraduate students, please use the Virtual Advising Center (VAC) for advising questions.
caesar@ucsd.edu
Arts and Humanities Building, 6th Floor, Room 655
858-534-0491

Walk-in Advising has been suspended due to campus closure. Please use the Virtual Advising Center (VAC) for advising questions. 

Core Faculty 

Robert Edelman
Professor of History
redelman@ucsd.edu

Amelia Glaser
Associate Professor of Literature
amglaser@ucsd.edu 

Martha Lampland
Professor of Sociology
mlampland@ucsd.edu

Patrick Patterson
Associate Professor of History
patrickpatterson@ucsd.edu

Philip Roeder
Professor of Political Science
proeder@ucsd.edu

Rebecca Wells
Lecturer of Literature
prwells@ucsd.edu   

Undergraduate Peer Advisor

Maryam Al-ateeq

As a third culture kid, my life consisted of moving every few years and learning a new language from the people and the places I found myself surrounded with. Upon coming to UCSD, I wondered if it was possible to learn about Russia and its people from the Russian language despite never having been there …(yet). After all, hearing and learning about Russia is just not the same as learning about it through Russian. 

My unofficial aspiration in life is to become a social chameleon. Simply, I would like to be able to blend in with any peoples through their language, customs and culture. Officially, as a diplomat, I aspire to bridge divides through language and expand my means of knowledge acquisition so that the world is my playground. 

The REEES program’s strength lies in its flexible and interdisciplinary nature. It links literature, linguistics, political science, theatre, film, and history under a Russian perspective at an undergraduate level. Whether you know anything about Russian linguistics, authors, history or not, the REEES program will certainly have you learning and you will never be the same again. 

Affiliated Faculty

Farrell Ackerman
Professor of Linguistics
fackerman@ucsd.edu 

Lera Boroditsky
Associate Professor of Cognitive Science
lera@ucsd.edu

Steven Cassedy
Professor Emeritus of Literature
scassedy@ucsd.edu

Frantisek Deak
Professor Emeritus of Theatre and Dance
fdeak@ucsd.edu

Jesse Driscoll
Associate Professor; Chair, Global Leadership Institute 
jdriscoll@ucsd.edu

Deborah Hertz
Professor of History
hertzd@gmail.com

Roger Levy
Associate Adjunct Professor of Linguistics
rlevy@ucsd.edu

Akos Rona-Tas
Professor of Sociology
aronatas@ucsd.edu

Yelena Severina
Lecturer of Literature
yseverina@ucsd.edu

Affiliated Graduate Students

Kevin Hart, Literature

Teresa Kuruc, Literature

Anna Starshinina, Communication

Olga Lazitsky, Communication

Julia Fermentto-Tzaisler, Literature

Publications

Publications by UC San Diego Faculty, Alumni, and Neighbors

Recently Published

Connected: How Trains, Genes, Pineapples, Piano Keys, and a Few Disasters Transformed Americans at the Dawn of the Twentieth Century
Steven Cassedy, UC San Diego Professor of Literature
(Stanford U.P., 2014)
Connected
Bought and Sold: Living and Losing the Good Life in Socialist Yugoslavia

Patrick Patterson, UC San Diego Associate Professor of History
(Cornell University Press, 2012)

Jews and Ukrainians in Russia's Literary Borderlands
Amelia Glaser, UC San Diego Associate Professor of Literature
(Northwestern University Press, 2012)

Gnedich: A Novel
Maria Rybakova (SDSU)
(Moscow: Vremi, 2011)

Spartak Moscow: A History of the People's Team in the Worker's State
Robert Edelman, UC San Diego Professor of History
(Cornell University Press, November 2009)

Standards and Their Stories: How Quantifying, Classifying, and Formalizing Practices Shape Everyday Life
Martha Lampland, UC San Diego Professor of Sociology, and Susan Leigh Star (Ed.)
(Cornell University Press, 2009)

Thin Culture, High Art: Gogol, Hawthorne, and Authorship in Nineteenth-Century Russia and America
Anne Lounsbery, UC San Diego Literature alumnus
(Harvard University Press, 2007)

Where Nation-States Come From: Institutional Change in the Age of Nationalism
Philip G. Roeder, UC San Diego Professor of Political Science
(Princeton University Press, 2007)

Dostoevsky's Religion
Steven Cassedy, UC San Diego Professor of Literature
(Stanford University Press, 2005)

Proletpen: America's Rebel Yiddish Poets
Amelia Glaser, UC San Diego Assistant Professor of Literature (Trans. and Ed.)
(University of Wisconsin Press, 2005)

Sustainable Peace: Power and Democracy After Civil Wars
Philip G. Roeder, UC San Diego Professor of Political Science, and Donald Rothchild (Ed.)
(Cornell University Press, 2005)