Skip to main content

Middle East Studies: People

Program Director

Michael Provence
Professor of History
mprovence@ucsd.edu
Humanities and Social Sciences Building, Room 4086B 
For office hours, consult the history department website.

Program Coordinator and Student Advisor 

Jennifer Dieli
Current undergraduate students, please use the Virtual Advising Center (VAC) for advising questions.
caesar@ucsd.edu
Arts and Humanities Building, 6th Floor, Room 655
858-534-0491

Walk-in Advising has been suspended due to campus closure. Please use the Virtual Advising Center (VAC) for advising questions. 

Faculty

Guillermo Algaze
Professor of Anthropology
galgaze@ucsd.edu

Eli Berman
Professor of Economics
elberman@ucsd.edu

Suzanne Brenner
Associate Professor of Anthropology
sbrenner@ucsd.edu

Gary Fields
Professor of Communication
gfields@ucsd.edu

Thomas Gallant
Professor of History
tgallant@ucsd.edu

Hasan Kayali
Associate Professor of History
hkayali@ucsd.edu

Thomas Levy
Professor of Anthropology
tlevy@ucsd.edu

Babak Rahimi
Associate Professor of Literature
brahimi@ucsd.edu

James Rauch
Professor of Economics
jrauch@ucsd.edu

Gershon Shafir
Professor of Sociology
gshafir@ucsd.edu

Nir Shafir
Assistant Professor of History
nshafir@ucsd.edu

Oumelbanine Zhiri
Professor of Literature
ozhiri@ucsd.edu

 

Faculty Emerita


Sanford E. Lakoff

Professor Emeritus of Political Science
slakoff@ucsd.edu

William H. Propp
Professor Emeritus of History
wpropp@ucsd.edu

 

Faculty in Memoriam 

Melford E. Spiro
Professor Emeritus in Anthropology

David Goodblatt
Professor Emeritus of History