Skip to main content

German Studies: People 

Program Director

Todd Kontje
Professor of Literature
tkontje@ucsd.edu
Literature Building, Room 327
For office hours, consult the 
literature department website.

Program Coordinator and Student Advisor 

Andrianna Martinez
Current undergraduate students, please use the Virtual Advising Center (VAC) for advising questions.
caesar@ucsd.edu
Humanities and Social Sciences Building, Room 1105
858-534-4551

Walk-in Advising:
Tuesday-Friday
10:00-11:00 AM and 2:00-3:00 PM
and by appointment

Affiliated Faculty

Frank Biess 
Professor of History
fbiess@ucsd.edu

Fatima El-Tayeb
Professor of Literature
feltayeb@ucsd.edu


William Chandler
Professor Emeritus of Political Science
wchandler@ucsd.edu

Harvey S. Goldman
Professor of Sociology
hsgoldman@ucsd.edu

Eva Fischer Grunski
Lecturer of Linguistics and Literature
ekfischergrunski@ucsd.edu

Michael Hardimon
Professor of Philosophy
mhardimon@ucsd.edu


Deborah Hertz
Professor of History 
dhertz@ucsd.edu

Todd Kontje
Professor of Literature
tkontje@ucsd.edu

Lisa Lampert-Weissig 
Professor of Literature
llampert@ucsd.edu

Jörg Neuheiser
DAAD Visiting Associate Professor of History Department
jneuheiser@ucsd.edu

Wm. Arctander O'Brien
Associate Professor Emeritus of Literature
wobrien@ucsd.edu

Carol Plantamura
Professor Emeritus of Music
cplant@ucsd.edu

Patrick Patterson 
Associate Professor of History
patrickpatterson@ucsd.edu

Elke Riebeling
Lecturer of German
eriebeling@ucsd.edu

John Rouse
Professor Emeritus of Theatre and Dance
jrouse@ucsd.edu


Donald P. Rutherford
Professor of Philosophy
drutherford@ucsd.edu

Christina Schneider
Associate Professor of Political Science
cjschneider@ucsd.edu


Jane R. Stevens 
Professor Emeritus of Music
jrstevens@ucsd.edu

Ulrike Strasser
Professor of History
ustrasser@ucsd.edu

Tracy B. Strong
Professor Emeritus of Political Science
tstrong@ucsd.edu

Clinton Tolley 
Associate Professor of Philosophy
ctolley@ucsd.edu


Cynthia Walk 
Associate Professor Emerita of German
cwalk@ucsd.edu


Eric Watkins 
Professor of Philosophy
ewatkins@ucsd.edu

Alena J. Williams
Assistant Professor of Visual Arts
ajwilliams@ucsd.edu